Pregnancy – An Actual Pain in the Ass

So, it’s TMI Tuesday, AKA the day to talk about gross, weird, or otherwise inappropriate feelings/goings on in life.

Today, my ass hurts.

Let me preface the rest of this by saying that I would be happy to have my butt feel like it lost a boxing match every day for the rest of my life if it means I get to bring my daughter home in 19 weeks. That said, it’s not necessarily a walk in the park.

Speaking of the park, yesterday I did a lot of walking, which is great for pretty much every aspect of pregnancy. It keeps weight gain in check, provides more oxygen for the baby, and reduces the chance of needing a C-section. So great right?

Yeah, fuck that.

I woke up this morning and almost fell to the floor because it felt like someone spent the night pummeling my ass. I had my husband take a look to make sure it didn’t look bruised (another glamorous aspect of being pregnant, right? no sense in having dignity!)

Not bruised, but I’m still not 100% sure what it is. I’ve looked around for an answer and it could be anything from sciatica, to relaxin doing its job, to the baby just laying on a nerve funny. In my case, I’m pretty sure it’s just a combination of relaxin and an increase in physical activity.

The fun part is that it won’t really stop happening until after she is born and the best thing to do is keep on exercising and asking my husband to give me ass massages.

If you’re pregnant and suffering from phantom ass pain, not to worry. It’s completely normal and there’s not much you can do about it!

Signature

Leave a Reply

